ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

The conference organisers thank the Dean of Nottingham School of Art and Design, Michael Marsden and the Associate Dean for Research, Jake Kaner for their support of the event. We gratefully acknowledge the helpful advice and guidance from IFFTI and especially from Professor Robyn Healy, Professor Liz Barnes, Professor Noel Palomo-Lewinski, Dr. Deirdre Sato and Professor David Zajtmann. The conference organising committee provided very valuable assistance at key stages of the development of the conference. We thank James Richards and Sean Vellacott-Murphy at Kind Studios for their website design and implementation and Geoffrey Campbell at Oxford Abstracts for the event organisation functions. Thanks too, to NTU student designers who provided us with their imaginative conceptualisation of the conference theme. In particular, our thanks go to our conference administrators, Lisa Shawgi and Rachael Hvaal for the many hours they spent ensuring this was a very successful and enjoyable conference.

Conference reviewers

The conference papers, posters, workshops and practice-based submissions could not have been presented without the consistent help and support of our reviewers. Our grateful thanks go to:

Akosua Amankwa Dr. Amela Dizdarevic

Dr. Deniz Aslan Professor Tom Fisher

Professor Liz Barnes Professor Andrew Groves

Dr. Ricarda Bigolin Dr. Saumya Gupta

Dr. Corneliu Dino Tudor Bodiciu

Jonathan Hamilton

Martin Bonney Professor Carolyn Hardaker

Dr. Vanessa Brown Dr. Hilde Heim

Nupur Chopra Sayaka Kamakura

Sally Cooke Dr. Vibhavari Kumar

Professor Tim Cooper Dr. Anja Köppchen

Lauren Copeland Panchami Mistry

Dr. Guan Congyin Professor Traci Lamar

Anamika Debnath Dr. Karin Landahl

IFFTI Annual Proceedings Vol.1, April 2022

Professor Jose Teunissen

Jan Tepe

Professor Katherine Townsend

Dr. Amy Twigger-Holroyd

Taruna Vasu

Dr. Deepsagar Verma

Dr. Hir Vyas

Zhe Wang

Dr. Ziejie Xu

Yishu Yan

Dr. Wendy Yothers

Professor David Zajtmann

Dr. Lei Zeng

Eden Zhang

Kate Nartker

Beth Paggett

Professor Noel Palomo-Lowinski

Dr. Patsy Perry

Dr. Anne Peirson-Smith

Dr. Silvia Pérez-Bou

Peng Qinxing

Dr. Getha Ranjini

Michael Rezandi

Li Shao

Dr. Alexandra Sherlock

Dr. Elif Selamet

Maulshree Sinha

Dr. Yuri Siregar

Professor Sushil Raturi

The conference organisers would also like to congratulate our award winners in the following categories:

Doctoral students:

Sally Cooke, Nottingham Trent University. Material encounters: using video elicitation and journaling techniques to understand the hands-on experience of beginners learning to sew clothes for themselves during a global pandemic.

Jan Tepe, Boras University. Wearing Body Shapes: Designing and Experiencing Dress as Poly-Body Objects at the Intersection of the Physical and the Digital.

Early Career Researcher:

Martin Bonney, Lasalle College, Singapore. Disrupting Place-Based Fashion Futures.

Lauren Copeland, Kent State University. Revolution RETOLD: Classroom to Real World.

Senior researchers:

Vanessa Brown, Nottingham Trent University. Fashion's awkward relationship with cool - and why it matters now.

Nithya Venkataraman, National Institute of Fashion Technology, Bengaluru. Moving beyond the innovative- An experiment in demystifying Deconstructed Fashion.